The Suicune Pokemon card (スイクン) appears as a regular, non-V Pokémon four times in the S codes of the official Japanese card database. The three credited to so-taro (S3 016/100, S4a 033/190 and the promo S-P 150/S-P) are the subject here, and the fourth, S4a 221/190, has its own guide. All three credit the same illustrator, so-taro, all three print HP 120, and all three carry the same attack text. This guide sets the three prints side by side, shows how to tell them apart, and says plainly what the database does and does not tell us about each one.
We sell Japanese sealed boxes and graded singles from Tokyo. Every card fact below comes from the official card database on pokemon-card.com (fetched October 29, 2026); our own store prices are the ones shown on that date and convert at ¥154/USD, approximate. The database does not print rarity letters, so none are stated for these three prints.
- Three regular Suicune prints share one illustrator (so-taro), one HP (120) and one pair of attacks: S3 016/100, S4a 033/190 and S-P 150/S-P.
- The number and set code in the bottom corner are the only practical way to separate them; the database text is identical.
- S4a also holds a separate, higher-numbered Suicune, 221/190, credited to Kagemaru Himeno — a different print, not a duplicate.
- The sealed product from the S4a set, the S4A-Shiny Star V booster box, is currently listed at ¥21,232 (~$138).
The Three Prints at a Glance
The official database lists 25 Suicune entries from 2007 onward. Four of them are plain, non-V Suicune cards in the S codes; the three credited to so-taro are the subject here, and the fourth, S4a 221/190, has its own guide. The table below prints the database fields side by side.
| Number | Set-Code | Illustrator | HP | Pokédex line | Database card ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 016/100 | S3 | so-taro | 120 | No.245 オーロラポケモン | 38154 |
| 033/190 | S4a (Shiny Star V) | so-taro | 120 | No.245 オーロラポケモン | 38678 |
| 150/S-P | S-P | so-taro | 120 | No.245 オーロラポケモン | 41763 |
The line “No.245 オーロラポケモン” is the Pokédex number and category the database prints for Suicune — the category reads “Aurora Pokémon.” It is the same on every plain Suicune entry in the database, so it does not separate these three prints either.
The “database card ID” is only a record number in the database. We do not read a release order or a date from it.
The Card Text, Rendered
All three entries print the same text. The English below is our rendering of the official Japanese, not an official translation.
| Field | Official database text | Rendering |
|---|---|---|
| Stage | たね | Basic Pokémon |
| HP | 120 | 120 |
| Attack 1 | スプラッシュ20 | “Splash” (rendering): 20 damage |
| Attack 2 | オーロラループ130 — このポケモンについているエネルギーを2個選び、手札にもどす。 | “Aurora Loop” (rendering): 130 damage; choose 2 Energy attached to this Pokémon and return them to your hand |
| Ability | None printed | No Ability on these prints |
| Weakness, Resistance, Retreat | 弱点 抵抗力 にげる ×2 — | Weakness ×2 (type shown as an icon), Resistance none; retreat cost shown as icons, not stated here |
Two things stand out. The first attack is a plain 20-damage hit with no effect text. The second pays for its 130 damage by sending two attached Energy back to your hand, so it is a heavy attack with a recurring cost (rendering of the printed effect). The database text we hold does not carry the Energy symbols, so we do not state the attack costs, the weakness type or the retreat cost; the card image is the place to read those.
That text belongs to these three prints only. Other Suicune cards in the database use different attacks, and none of this should be read across to them.

S3 016/100: The S3 Print
The S3 entry is numbered 016/100: a set of 100 printed numbers, Suicune at position 16. The database credits so-taro and prints the standard HP 120 line with Splash and Aurora Loop.
What our sources do not give for S3 is the set’s English name or release date, so we leave both out rather than guess. What the numbering does tell you is useful for identification: a three-digit denominator of 100 on a Suicune with this text means S3, not S4a.
The number format is the only thing the database gives for separating S3 from the others. Print runs are not in the database, so we say nothing about how many copies exist.
S4a 033/190: The Shiny Star V Print
The S4a entry is numbered 033/190 and belongs to the high-class pack our listings call “S4A-Shiny Star V.” Our Suicune guide gives the set’s Japanese release as Friday, November 20, 2020. The database again credits so-taro, with HP 120 and the same pair of attacks.
This is the print with the most surrounding context, because the set has a second Suicune. The 221/190 entry is numbered above the set’s printed 190, which in the database marks a secret or special-numbered print; the database does not print the rarity letter, so we do not name one. Its illustrator credit is Kagemaru Himeno, and its text matches 033/190. In other words, the same card text appears under two different artists in the same set. For the higher-numbered print, see our dedicated Shiny Suicune 221/190 guide.

The full S4a card list is on our Shiny Star V card list.
S-P 150/S-P: The Promo Print
The third entry is numbered 150/S-P. A promo number has no set total in the denominator: the slot that reads 100 on S3 and 190 on S4a instead repeats the promo code, S-P. The database credits so-taro, prints HP 120 and carries the same Splash and Aurora Loop text.
How this promo was distributed — which product, event or campaign carried it — is not stated in the database or in our sources. We therefore do not describe where it came from. If you are checking a promo copy, the number format 150/S-P is the identifier to match, and the code S-P on the card is the cue that it is not from either of the numbered sets.

How to Tell Which Suicune You Hold
Because the text, HP and illustrator credit are identical, the identification checklist is short.
- Read the bottom-corner number. 016/100 is S3, 033/190 is S4a, 150/S-P is the promo. If the number reads 221/190, you hold the other S4a print.
- Look at the set mark beside the number. The database shows the set code (S3, S4a, S-P); the physical card carries the set’s mark in the same area.
- Compare the illustrator credit. so-taro on all three plain prints; Kagemaru Himeno on 221/190. If the credit is a different name, it is a different Suicune card.
- Check the HP. 120 on all three. A Suicune at 130, 110 or 100 HP is another card; for example, M2 026/080 prints HP 130 and SM7a 018/060 prints HP 110.
If you are not sure after those four checks, set the card next to the official database image shown in this guide. For the wider set lists, our card list hub is the place to start.

Other Suicune Cards in the S Codes
The three plain prints are not the only Suicune cards with an S-code set mark. The database also lists the S4a secret-numbered print, which carries the same text as 033/190 under a different illustrator credit, and the V-type Suicune cards, which have different text.
| Karte | Illustrator | HP | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Suicune S4a 221/190 | Kagemaru Himeno | 120 | Same text as 033/190; number above the set’s 190 |
| Suicune V S7D 001/067 | Ayaka Yoshida | 210 | V-type; Ability and a Benched-Pokémon attack |
| Suicune V S7D 068/067 | Ayaka Yoshida | 210 | Number above the set’s 67 |
| Suicune V S12a 024/172 | Ayaka Yoshida | 210 | Same text as the S7D prints |
| Suicune V S12a 215/172 | Atsushi Furusawa | 210 | Number above the set’s 172 |
| Suicune V SI 092/414 | Ayaka Yoshida | 210 | Start Deck 100 numbering |
Later plain Suicune cards in the database move away from this text. The SV-P 194/SV-P promo and the SVM 031/175 and MC 174/742 prints, all credited to Kuroimori, print HP 120 with a 30-damage attack that also hits one of the opponent’s Benched Pokémon for 30, plus a 100-damage Aurora Beam (rendering). M2 026/080, credited to Takeshi Nakamura, prints HP 130 and a 30+ attack that adds 90 damage when you have 4 or more Energy in play (rendering). So when a Suicune listing says “HP 120,” the attack text is still needed to know which family it belongs to: Splash and Aurora Loop point to S3, S4a or S-P; Run Through and Aurora Beam point to the newer family.
The V cards are a separate story with a separate rule box: when a Pokémon V is Knocked Out, the opponent takes 2 Prize cards (rendering of the printed rule). The plain prints in this article print no rule box.
For the V prints in depth, our Suicune Japanese cards guide walks through every era. For how Suicune’s text and numbering changed in the MEGA era, see our MEGA-era Suicune checklist. For the high-numbered S12a print by Atsushi Furusawa, the VSTAR Universe listing page carries that set’s card list.
What the Database Does Not Say
A single-source guide is only as good as its limits. This table separates what the official database confirms from what it leaves out, so you know where to look elsewhere.
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| Who illustrated the three prints? | so-taro, credited on all three entries. |
| What HP and attacks do they print? | HP 120; Splash 20 and Aurora Loop 130 (rendering). |
| What is each print’s rarity letter? | Not printed by the database; we name none. |
| When was each released? | S4a: Friday, November 20, 2020 per our Suicune guide. S3 and S-P: not stated in our sources. |
| How was S-P 150/S-P distributed? | Not stated in the database or in our sources. |
| How many were printed? | Print runs are not in the database. |
| Do the three look the same on the card face? | The text is identical; for the artwork, compare the official database images directly. |
Anything beyond this table — scarcity, condition sensitivity, or what a copy “should” cost — is outside what we can source, so we do not state it.
What We List for Suicune
None of the three plain prints is the subject of a PSA 10 listing in our store. The Suicune PSA 10 back orders we list are other cards, shown here so nobody confuses them with the S3, S4a or S-P prints.
- Suicune V SAR [s12a 215/172], the Atsushi Furusawa print: offered as a PSA 10 back order at ¥18,620 (~$121) — sourced to order; the product page shows the current terms.
- Suicune GX [SM8 028/095]: offered as a PSA 10 back order at ¥10,499 (~$68) — sourced to order; the product page shows the current terms.
- Suicune ex [CLK 010/032]: offered as a PSA 10 back order at ¥8,999 (~$58) — sourced to order; the product page shows the current terms.
Our listing names carry the rarity letters — SAR for the S12a print and RR for the SM8 028/095 print (as our listing names it). The official database does not print them. The only sealed product in this article’s scope is the S4a booster box, currently listed at ¥21,232 (~$138). Boxes for the S3 set and a product for the S-P promo are not part of the listings this guide relies on, so we make no statement about them.
Where to Buy Suicune Cards from Japan
For the S4a print, the direct route is sealed product from the same set: the S4A-Shiny Star V booster box, currently listed at ¥21,232 (~$138). A box is a sealed product, not a listing for any particular card.
If you want a graded card, the Suicune back orders above are the ones we list; look at the Suicune GX SR [SM8 098/095] PSA 10 back order at ¥33,786 (~$219) as well if you collect the SM8 Suicune GX prints — sourced to order; the product page shows the current terms. For a specific single that is not listed, sourcing requests go through Schnellbestellung.
To browse the sets the singles come from, start at our card list hub.
The 「オーロラの波紋」 Trademark Report
On October 29, 2026 premium.gamepedia.jp and PokeGuardian reported a Japanese trademark filing for 「オーロラの波紋」 (working English translation: Aurora Ripples; no official English name exists), which collectors read as a possible Suicune set; nothing is announced. Our Suicune trademark guide explains what is confirmed and what is not, and our round-up of the ex★ 2027 sets and trademarks covers the full list of names reported that day.
Häufig gestellte Fragen
Which regular Suicune prints share the same card text?
Three plain Suicune entries in the official database print identical text: S3 016/100, S4a 033/190 and the promo S-P 150/S-P. Each shows HP 120, the attack Splash with 20 damage and the attack Aurora Loop with 130 damage (rendering), and each credits the illustrator so-taro.
Who illustrated Suicune S3 016/100?
The official database credits so-taro for Suicune S3 016/100. The same credit appears on S4a 033/190 and on the S-P 150/S-P promo.
What does the number 150/S-P mean?
150/S-P is a promo number. Instead of a set total after the slash, it repeats the promo code S-P. The database lists it with so-taro as illustrator and HP 120; how it was distributed is not stated in the database or in our sources.
Is Suicune S4a 221/190 the same card as 033/190?
No. Both print the same text, but 221/190 is numbered above the set’s printed 190 and credits a different illustrator, Kagemaru Himeno, while 033/190 credits so-taro. The database does not print the rarity letter for either.
Do you sell a sealed product from the S4a set?
Yes. The S4A-Shiny Star V Japanese Pokemon Booster Box is currently listed at ¥21,232 (~$138). It is a sealed product from the set that holds Suicune 033/190; it is not a listing for any one card.
Does your store list PSA 10 copies of the S3, S4a or S-P Suicune?
No. The Suicune PSA 10 back orders we list are other cards, such as the Suicune V SAR s12a 215/172 at ¥18,620 (~$121), sourced to order. For a specific single that is not listed, sourcing requests go through Quick Order.
Süßes oder Saures: Drei Truhen öffnen, bis zu 4% sparen
SO FUNKTIONIERT ESNur für Mitglieder · Jede bezahlte Bestellung öffnet die nächste Truhe · Endet am 31. Okt., 23:59 JST · Einfuhrzölle, Steuern und Zollgebühren sind nicht im Preis enthalten und werden bei der Zustellung erhoben, außer bei Zielen, in die wir verzollt versenden.
Passend zu diesem Artikel
📩 Exklusive Sale-Alerts & Coupons für Mitglieder
Sale-Alerts, Coupons und Restock-Infos per E-Mail, direkt aus Tokio.