
Every pack of S8a, the 25th ANNIVERSARY COLLECTION expansion pack that released in Japan on Friday, October 22, 2021, contains five holo cards, and the official product page states plainly that one of those five is always a Basic Energy card. This guide is a contents-first look at all eight of them: what the official card database shows on each one, and what it doesn’t.
S8a’s official card database enumeration runs to 33 entries: 25 numbered cards (001/028–025/028) and these eight Basic Energy cards, which carry no printed number of their own.
S8a includes one Basic Energy card of each of the eight Energy types (Grass, Fire, Water, Lightning, Psychic, Fighting, Darkness, Metal), database ids 40091–40098. None carries a printed number or a credited illustrator. One is included in every pack, alongside four other holo cards. Our S8A 25th Anniversary Collection Booster Box is currently listed at ¥67,200 (~$436) (September 17, 2026).
The Eight Basic Energy Cards, By Database ID
The database lists S8a’s Basic Energy cards at ids 40091 through 40098, one for each Energy type, immediately following the 25 numbered cards (which run 40066–40090). In place of a card number, the database’s own listing shows a three-letter type code for each:
| DB id | Energy type | JP name | Type code |
|---|---|---|---|
| 40091 | Grass | 基本草エネルギー | GRA |
| 40092 | Fire | 基本炎エネルギー | FIR |
| 40093 | Water | 基本水エネルギー | WAT |
| 40094 | Lightning | 基本雷エネルギー | LIG |
| 40095 | Psychic | 基本超エネルギー | PSY |
| 40096 | Fighting | 基本闘エネルギー | FIG |
| 40097 | Darkness | 基本悪エネルギー | DAR |
| 40098 | Metal | 基本鋼エネルギー | MET |
Each of these eight covers one of the eight Energy types used elsewhere across S8a’s Pokémon cards — the same eight types that appear in the Weakness and attack-cost lines on cards like Zacian V (018/028) and Pikachu V (020/028), covered in their own guides on our site.

What the Database Shows — and Doesn’t
Each of the eight detail pages carries a “基本エネルギー” (Basic Energy) text field, but that field is blank on every one of them — there is no additional rules text printed for a Basic Energy card.
None of the eight pages names an illustrator. None carries a printed card number the way the 25 numbered cards do — the database’s own listing calls them out separately from the “001/028” through “025/028” run. And like every other S8a card, each Energy page shows only the set’s own expansion logo mark, with no G, H or I regulation-mark letter.
That combination — no number, no illustrator, no rules text beyond the type label — is what the database records for these eight pages, and nothing more. The set-wide finish statement on the product page still applies to them: every card in S8a is a holo card, Basic Energy included.

The 25th anniversary line has one other Basic Energy entry worth knowing about, and it behaves the same way. The Golden Box’s own card subset, set code S8a-G, runs 001/015 to 015/015 and then adds a sixteenth database entry: a Basic Lightning Energy whose number field reads LIG rather than a /015 number, with no illustrator credited. It is the “extra” third-party checklists point at for that product, and it is a Basic Energy card, not a secret print.
One Basic Energy Per Pack, Officially
The official 25th ANNIVERSARY COLLECTION product page states the pack contents directly: five holo kaarten per pack, of which one is a Basic Energy card (“キラカード5枚入り(うち、基本エネルギーカード1枚)”). The same page’s set description adds the finish statement that covers every S8a card, Basic Energy included: every card in the set is a holo card, with the five cards in a pack chosen at random from the 28 kinds in the set.
The official page does not state how many packs make up an S8a booster box, so this guide does not state a box-pack figure, and it gives no per-pack or per-box guarantee beyond the “one Basic Energy per pack” line quoted above. 30th CELEBRATION (M6a), released on September 16, 2026, keeps the same one-per-pack structure with eight Basic Energy cards of its own, all credited to YOSHIROTTEN — see our 30th Celebration Basic Energy Cards by YOSHIROTTEN guide.

Where the Energy Cards Sit in S8a’s 28 Kinds of Cards
Two figures apply here and both come from official sources. The official product page describes the pack as five cards drawn at random from 全28種類 — 28 kinds of card. The official card database carries 25 numbered entries for S8a, 001/028 through 025/028, plus these eight Basic Energy pages. The two figures count different things, and neither is derived from the other.
| Block | Count | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Numbered cards (001/028–025/028) | 25 | Pokémon and Trainer cards, in the official card database |
| Basic Energy (no printed number) | 8 | This guide’s subject, database ids 40091–40098 |
| Total database entries | 33 | — |
The numbered run itself ends on an unusual entry: 025/028 is printed 025/028(左上), the top-left piece of Pikachu V-UNION, and the database holds no separate pages for 026/028, 027/028 or 028/028. For two of the numbered cards these Basic Energy pages sit alongside, see our guides to Zacian V (018/028) and Pikachu V-UNION (025/028).
Where to Buy
Because there is one Basic Energy in every pack, sealed product is the only practical route to these eight designs. Our S8A 25th Anniversary Collection Booster Box is currently listed at ¥67,200 (~$436) (September 17, 2026), and our 25th Anniversary Collection Special Set, whose four expansion packs each hold one, is currently listed at ¥33,600 (~$218) (September 17, 2026). Individual S8a Basic Energy cards are not listed on our site as singles; sourcing requests go through Snel bestellen.

For the rest of the catalogue: sealed Japanese boxes sit in the sealed booster box collection, graded S8a cards in the PSA 10 collection, and everything else in the Japanese Pokémon card collection. What a box actually contains, pack by pack, is the subject of our 25th Anniversary Collection (S8a) Booster Box Guide.
USD figures convert at ¥154/USD (approximate).
Veelgestelde vragen
How many Basic Energy cards does S8a have?
Eight, one for each Energy type (Grass, Fire, Water, Lightning, Psychic, Fighting, Darkness, Metal), at database ids 40091–40098.
Who illustrated S8a’s Basic Energy cards?
The official card database credits no illustrator on any of the eight detail pages.
How many Basic Energy cards come in each S8a pack?
One, per the official product page’s pack breakdown: five holo kaarten per pack, one of which is a Basic Energy card.
Do S8a’s Basic Energy cards have a printed card number?
No. They’re listed separately from the 25 numbered cards (001/028–025/028). The database’s own listing shows a three-letter type code such as GRA or LIG in place of a number.
Are S8a’s Basic Energy cards holo like the rest of the set?
Yes. The official product page’s set description states that every card in S8a is a holo card, and it makes no exception for the Basic Energy.
Where do I get S8a Basic Energy cards from Samurai Sword Tokyo?
Through sealed product only, because one comes in every pack: the S8A 25th Anniversary Collection Booster Box is currently listed at ¥67,200 (~$436) (September 17, 2026), and the Special Set, whose four packs each hold one, at ¥33,600 (~$218) (September 17, 2026).
¥500 korting, van ons
- ¥500 korting op één bestelling van ¥30.000 of meer
- +1% extra punten op die bestelling
- Eén kortingscode per account
Log in of maak een account aan om te claimen · Eén keer te gebruiken per account · Eén kortingscode per bestelling · Niet geldig op pre-orders · Eindigt 24 sep 2026 om 23:59 JST · Invoerrechten, belastingen en douanekosten zijn niet inbegrepen in de prijs en worden bij levering geïnd, behalve voor bestemmingen waarnaar we rechten-betaald verzenden.
Gekozen bij dit artikel
📩 Sale-alerts & coupons alleen voor leden
Sale-alerts, coupons en restock-berichten per e-mail, rechtstreeks uit Tokio.
