The Obsidian Flames ETB holds nine packs and a full-art foil Charmander promo, according to the pokemon.com product page.
The same site gives the set a release date of August 11, 2023 and the line “Over 190 cards” (as of September 29, 2026). The Japanese set that Bulbapedia’s list (as of September 15, 2026) places under Obsidian Flames is SV3 Ruler of the Black Flame, released on July 28, 2023 according to the official pokemon-card.com page.
We sell Japanese sealed product and graded singles from Tokyo. USD figures convert at ¥154/USD, approximate.
The English ETB officially holds 9 packs, a Charmander promo and Charmander sleeves; the Pokémon Center version holds 11 packs and two Charmander promos. The Japanese SV3 box has 5-card packs at ¥180 each. Our SV3 box, Sealed option, is sold out at the time of this update; the Damaged Box (Grade B) listing is currently listed at ¥13,835 (~$90).
- The ETB contents and the SV3 spec follow the official pages exactly (as of September 29, 2026).
- Every marketplace figure is the lowest ask on SNKRDUNK, September 29, 2026 — an asking price, not a sale.
- Twelve SV3 cards carry a raw ask, a PSA 10 ask and our PSA 10 listing where one exists (as of September 29, 2026).
What pokemon.com Prints for Obsidian Flames
The set page, the product gallery and the expansion page on tcg.pokemon.com are the official sources for the English side. The table separates what they print from what they leave out.
| Fact | What the official page prints | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Set name | Scarlet & Violet—Obsidian Flames | Official |
| Release date | August 11, 2023 | Official |
| Set size | “Over 190 cards” | Official |
| Elite Trainer Box | Launch August 11, 2023; 9 packs; 1 full-art foil Charmander promo; 65 sleeves featuring Charmander | Official |
| Pokémon Center ETB | 11 packs; 2 Charmander promos | Official |
| Booster Box | Named in the expansion carousel; contents not printed | Official (name only) |
| Booster Bundle | Named in the expansion carousel; contents not printed | Official (name only) |
| MSRP of any product | No USD price printed | Not stated officially |
The Obsidian Flames ETB: Contents
The product page for Pokémon TCG: Scarlet & Violet—Obsidian Flames Elite Trainer Box, with a launch date of August 11, 2023, lists:
- 9 booster packs
- 1 full-art foil promo card featuring Charmander
- 65 card sleeves featuring Charmander
- The standard Scarlet & Violet Elite Trainer Box accessories listed on the page

The Pokémon Center version of the ETB lists 11 packs and two Charmander promos. The tcg.pokemon.com expansion page shows a Booster Box and a Booster Bundle as well, each with an image and a name but no printed contents.

Spec Compared: English ETB vs Japanese SV3 Box
The official SV3 page on pokemon-card.com names the product as ポケモンカードゲーム スカーレット&バイオレット 拡張パック「黒炎の支配者」 and prints the release date, pack price and cards per pack.
| Spec | English Obsidian Flames ETB | Japanese SV3 Ruler of the Black Flame box |
|---|---|---|
| Release date | August 11, 2023 (official) | July 28, 2023 (official) |
| Packs | 9 in the ETB; 11 in the Pokémon Center ETB (official) | Packs per box not printed on the official page |
| Cards per pack | Not stated officially | 5 (official) |
| Price | – | ¥180 per pack, tax included; box price not printed |
| Set size | “Over 190 cards” | /108 printed on the cards; the official database lists numbers up to 141/108 |
| Secret numbers | – | SAR 133 to 138, UR 139 to 141 (33 numbers above 108) |
| Official database entries | – | 141 |
| Our listing | Not sold (we sell Japanese product) | Sealed option sold out at the time of this update; Damaged Box (Grade B) listing ¥13,835 (~$90) |
The SV3 box has a second option in the same product: the No Shrink option is sold out at the time of this update — restock requests go through Quick Order.


The Deck Build BOX: The One Official Box Price
The SV3 page also carries a related official product with a printed price: the デッキビルドBOX「黒炎の支配者」 at ¥4,200, tax included. The page lists 10 packs, 170 cards (46 kinds), a card box, 4 dividers and a VSTAR marker. It is a different product from the booster box.
The Deck Build BOX has its own cards. We list a PSA 10 back order of the Radiant Charizard SVF 001/038 from it at ¥6,671 (~$43) — sourced to order; the product page shows the current terms (see how PSA 10 back orders work).
How the Sets Are Linked
Bulbapedia’s Japanese set list (as of September 15, 2026) records SV3 Ruler of the Black Flame as an expansion pack of 108 cards, priced at ¥180 with 5 cards per pack, released July 28, 2023, and names Obsidian Flames as the English set. Neither pokemon.com nor pokemon-card.com states that the sets are equal.
Card-level lists show the link is not one-to-one. Limitless TCG lists English prints from two English sets under SV3 cards:
| Japanese card | Rarity and illustrator (as listed) | English prints Limitless lists |
|---|---|---|
| SV3 card 4 | Common, Shin Nagasawa | Obsidian Flames #4; Paldean Fates #95 |
| SV3 card 36 | Rare, GOSSAN | Obsidian Flames #70; Paldean Fates #139 |
Compare the card, not the set name. Our Obsidian Flames chase cards article and SV3 booster box buying guide cover the wider picture, and the Japanese vs English Pokemon cards article explains what changes with language.
Twelve SV3 Chase Cards With Dated Asks
Twelve SV3 cards are listed, sorted by the raw grade-A ask. Every ask is the lowest ask on SNKRDUNK, September 29, 2026, and the rarity is the official database icon. Our PSA 10 listings are mostly back orders, sourced to order.
| No. | Card | Rarity | Illustrator (official database) | Raw ask (grade A) | PSA 10 ask | Our PSA 10 listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SV3 134 | Charizard ex | SAR | AKIRA EGAWA | ¥35,000 (~$227) | ¥61,000 (~$396) | PSA 10 ¥63,565 (~$413); back order ¥62,342 (~$405) |
| SV3 139 | Charizard ex | UR | 5ban Graphics | ¥14,000 (~$91) | ¥19,499 (~$127) | ¥19,992 (~$130) |
| SV3 125 | Charizard ex | SR | 5ban Graphics | ¥3,300 (~$21) | ¥9,800 (~$64) | ¥10,712 (~$70) |
| SV3 137 | Geeta | SAR | DOM | ¥3,000 (~$19) | ¥8,888 (~$58) | ¥9,066 (~$59) |
| SV3 136 | Pidgeot ex | SAR | Jerky | ¥2,900 (~$19) | ¥11,500 (~$75) | ¥11,730 (~$76) |
| SV3 113 | Cleffa | AR | HYOGONOSUKE | ¥2,800 (~$18) | ¥11,480 (~$75) | ¥11,344 (~$74) |
| SV3 110 | Ninetales | AR | SIE NANAHARA | ¥2,500 (~$16) | ¥8,980 (~$58) | ¥9,319 (~$61) |
| SV3 141 | Basic Fire Energy | UR | None printed (energy card) | ¥2,300 (~$15) | None listed | Not listed |
| SV3 133 | Eiscue ex | SAR | Toshinao Aoki | ¥2,000 (~$13) | None listed | ¥8,160 (~$53) |
| SV3 138 | Poppy | SAR | Ryota Murayama | ¥1,500 (~$10) | ¥6,800 (~$44) | ¥6,936 (~$45) |
| SV3 116 | Scizor | AR | Oku | ¥1,000 (~$6) | ¥6,980 (~$45) | ¥6,576 (~$43) |
| SV3 122 | Tyranitar ex | SR | 5ban Graphics | ¥1,000 (~$6) | ¥7,200 (~$47) | ¥7,344 (~$48) |
Three cautions apply. The Basic Fire Energy UR has no PSA 10 ask and no illustrator in the database. The Scizor and Tyranitar ex raw asks sit at SNKRDUNK’s ¥1,000 display floor. The Eiscue ex SAR has no PSA 10 ask.
Charizard ex 134/108 (SAR, SV3)

The official card database credits AKIRA EGAWA. The lowest ask on SNKRDUNK, September 29, 2026 was ¥35,000 (~$227) for a raw copy (grade A) and ¥61,000 (~$396) for a PSA 10 copy. The Japanese name printed on the card is リザードンex. A physical PSA 10 row is priced at ¥63,565 (~$413), and a PSA 10 back order at ¥62,342 (~$405) — sourced to order; the product page shows the current terms.
Charizard ex 139/108 (UR, SV3)

The official card database credits 5ban Graphics. The lowest ask on SNKRDUNK, September 29, 2026 was ¥14,000 (~$91) for a raw copy (grade A) and ¥19,499 (~$127) for a PSA 10 copy. The database credits the same illustrator on this UR, the Charizard ex SR 125/108 and the Tyranitar ex SR 122/108. It is offered as a PSA 10 back order at ¥19,992 (~$130) — sourced to order; the product page shows the current terms.
Geeta 137/108 (SAR, SV3)

The official card database credits DOM. The lowest ask on SNKRDUNK, September 29, 2026 was ¥3,000 (~$19) for a raw copy (grade A) and ¥8,888 (~$58) for a PSA 10 copy. It is offered as a PSA 10 back order at ¥9,066 (~$59) — sourced to order; the product page shows the current terms.
Pidgeot ex 136/108 (SAR, SV3)

The official card database credits Jerky. The lowest ask on SNKRDUNK, September 29, 2026 was ¥2,900 (~$19) for a raw copy (grade A) and ¥11,500 (~$75) for a PSA 10 copy. It is offered as a PSA 10 back order at ¥11,730 (~$76) — sourced to order; the product page shows the current terms.
Cleffa 113/108 (AR, SV3)

The official card database credits HYOGONOSUKE. The lowest ask on SNKRDUNK, September 29, 2026 was ¥2,800 (~$18) for a raw copy (grade A) and ¥11,480 (~$75) for a PSA 10 copy. It is offered as a PSA 10 back order at ¥11,344 (~$74) — sourced to order; the product page shows the current terms.
Ninetales 110/108 (AR, SV3)

The official card database credits SIE NANAHARA. The lowest ask on SNKRDUNK, September 29, 2026 was ¥2,500 (~$16) for a raw copy (grade A) and ¥8,980 (~$58) for a PSA 10 copy. It is offered as a PSA 10 back order at ¥9,319 (~$61) — sourced to order; the product page shows the current terms.
Which English Card Matches?
Limitless TCG’s Japanese card pages list English prints. The table keeps only English prints whose illustrator equals the illustrator in the official Japanese database. OBF is Obsidian Flames, PAF is Paldean Fates and SVP is the Scarlet & Violet promo series. Where several English prints share the illustrator, the pick is labelled “inference”, with the other same-illustrator prints beside it.
| Japanese card | Illustrator (official database) | English print Limitless lists |
|---|---|---|
| SV3 134 Charizard ex SAR | AKIRA EGAWA | OBF #223 (same illustrator per Limitless; the pick among same-illustrator prints is an inference; other: PAF/234) |
| SV3 139 Charizard ex UR | 5ban Graphics | OBF #228 (same illustrator per Limitless; inference; others: SVP/74, SVP/196, OBF/125, OBF/215, PAF/54) |
| SV3 125 Charizard ex SR | 5ban Graphics | OBF #215 (same illustrator per Limitless; inference; others: SVP/74, SVP/196, OBF/125, OBF/228, PAF/54) |
| SV3 137 Geeta SAR | DOM | OBF #226 (only English print by the same illustrator per Limitless) |
| SV3 136 Pidgeot ex SAR | Jerky | OBF #225 (only English print by the same illustrator per Limitless) |
| SV3 113 Cleffa AR | HYOGONOSUKE | OBF #202 (only English print by the same illustrator per Limitless) |
| SV3 110 Ninetales AR | SIE NANAHARA | OBF #199 (only English print by the same illustrator per Limitless) |
| SV3 141 Basic Fire Energy UR | None printed | Not verified (no Limitless Japanese page) |
| SV3 133 Eiscue ex SAR | Toshinao Aoki | OBF #222 (only English print by the same illustrator per Limitless) |
| SV3 138 Poppy SAR | Ryota Murayama | OBF #227 (only English print by the same illustrator per Limitless) |
| SV3 116 Scizor AR | Oku | OBF #205 (only English print by the same illustrator per Limitless) |
| SV3 122 Tyranitar ex SR | 5ban Graphics | OBF #211 (same illustrator per Limitless; inference; other: OBF/66) |
Limitless also lists Paldean Fates #234 as a same-illustrator print of the Charizard ex SAR; none of the table’s matches is an official statement.
Community Tally: Reported, Not Official
The Japanese company does not publish rarity rates. The ポケゲトちゃんねる site says so on its own page (ポケモンカードの封入率は公式から一切公表されておらず) and publishes a tally of carton-opening results for Ruler of the Black Flame.
Reported, not official: community tally (unverified), updated by ポケゲトちゃんねる on January 17, 2026, based on 600 boxes (50 cartons; the page counts one carton as 12 boxes).
| Rarity | Reported figure per carton (as printed) |
|---|---|
| SAR | About 3 |
| UR | About 1 |
| SR (Pokémon) | About 6 |
| SR (Supporter) | About 3 |
| AR | Basically 3 per box |
These figures come from a user and shop tally, not from an official statement, and one carton is a sample of 12 boxes.
English ETB or Japanese Box: A Checklist
- You want a sealed English product. The ETB is the English product with printed contents: 9 packs and a Charmander promo. We do not sell English products.
- You want the Charmander promo. It is part of the English ETB, along with the Charmander sleeves.
- You want a box of packs. The Japanese SV3 box has 5-card packs at ¥180 each. Our SV3 box (Sealed option) is sold out at the time of this update — restock requests go through Quick Order. The Damaged Box (Grade B) listing is currently listed at ¥13,835 (~$90).
- You are weighing a damaged-box listing. The Damaged Box (Grade B) listing is a separate product from the sealed-box listing.
- You want one card, graded. The PSA 10 listings above are back orders, plus a physical PSA 10 for the Charizard ex SAR; the PSA 10 meaning article explains the grade.
Where to Buy the Japanese SV3 Box
The SV3 box ships from Tokyo: the Sealed option is sold out at the time of this update, and the Damaged Box (Grade B) listing is at ¥13,835 (~$90). Graded singles are collected on the PSA 10 card list and in the PSA 10 collection. For a card that is not listed, use Quick Order. New to buying from Japan? Read how to buy Japanese Pokemon cards from Japan.
The full English list with the Japanese SV3 prints is in the Obsidian Flames card list.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many packs are in the Obsidian Flames Elite Trainer Box?
Nine. The pokemon.com product page lists 9 booster packs, one full-art foil promo featuring Charmander and 65 sleeves featuring Charmander. The Pokémon Center version of the ETB lists 11 packs and 2 Charmander promos. Both pages give a launch date of August 11, 2023.
How many packs are in an Obsidian Flames booster box?
No official page states it. The tcg.pokemon.com expansion page names a Booster Box but prints no contents, and the official Japanese SV3 page prints no packs-per-box line either. The Japanese page does print ¥180 per pack, with 5 cards in each pack.
How many cards are in Obsidian Flames?
The pokemon.com set page says “Over 190 cards” and gives no exact total. The Japanese SV3 cards print /108, and the official pokemon-card.com database lists 141 entries with numbers up to 141/108, including SAR 133 to 138 and UR 139 to 141.
When did Obsidian Flames release in English and in Japan?
The English Obsidian Flames set released on August 11, 2023, according to the pokemon.com set page. The Japanese expansion pack Ruler of the Black Flame (SV3) released on July 28, 2023, according to the official pokemon-card.com page. Each company prints only its own date.
How much does an Obsidian Flames ETB cost?
No official page prints a USD price for the ETB, and we do not sell it. On the Japanese side, the official page prints ¥180 per pack and ¥4,200 for the Deck Build BOX. Our SV3 box, Sealed option, is sold out at the time of this update; the Damaged Box (Grade B) listing is currently listed at ¥13,835 (~$90).
Is Ruler of the Black Flame the same as Obsidian Flames?
No official page says so. Bulbapedia’s set list (as of September 15, 2026) places SV3 under Obsidian Flames, and Limitless lists Obsidian Flames prints by the same illustrators for eleven of the twelve cards listed, some also in Paldean Fates. Artwork matches are not verified.
Which SV3 card has the highest ask?
Charizard ex SAR 134/108: the lowest ask on SNKRDUNK, September 29, 2026 was ¥35,000 (~$227) for grade A and ¥61,000 (~$396) for a PSA 10 copy. We list a physical PSA 10 at ¥63,565 (~$413) and a PSA 10 back order at ¥62,342 (~$405), sourced to order.
500 Points Free on Sign-Up
CREATE FREE ACCOUNT1 pt = ¥1 at checkout · Points expire 30 days after they are earned · Import duties, taxes and customs charges are not included in the price and are collected on delivery, except for destinations we ship duty-paid.
Picked for this article
📩 Get member-only sale alerts & coupons
Sale alerts, coupons and restock notices by email — straight from Tokyo.

