The Pitch Black ETB holds nine packs, and the Pokémon Center version holds eleven.
The official Pokémon TCG pages on pokemon.com and tcg.pokemon.com date the English Mega Evolution—Pitch Black expansion and its Elite Trainer Boxes to July 17, 2026, and describe the set as “over 115 cards”. The Japanese expansion pack Abyss Eye (アビスアイ), M5, went on sale on May 22, 2026, according to pokemon-card.com.
Comparisons below are made card by card and product by product. We sell Japanese sealed product and graded singles from Tokyo. Prices use ¥154/USD.
The official pages list the Elite Trainer Box (9 packs, one Zarude promo), the Pokémon Center ETB (11 packs, two Zarude promos), the Booster Bundle (6 packs), the 36-pack Booster Display and the Build & Battle Box. The Japanese Abyss Eye box is built from ¥200 packs of 5 cards. Our Abyss Eye box in the No Shrink option is listed at ¥8,603 (~$56).
English product contents and dates are as printed on the official Pokémon TCG pages as of September 29, 2026. Card matches come from Limitless and the official Japanese card database and are labelled as such.
The Official Pitch Black Product List
Pitch Black is an English Mega Evolution-series expansion. The announcement of April 30, 2026 and the set page both give July 17, 2026, and the set page describes “over 115 cards, including more than 20 Trainer cards and over 35 cards with special illustrations”. Mega Darkrai ex, Mega Zeraora ex, Mega Chandelure ex and Mega Excadrill ex are the featured Pokémon, and the product showcase of July 3, 2026 mentions a Mega Hyper Rare card featuring Mega Darkrai ex.

| Product | Launch | Contents (official page) | MSRP |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elite Trainer Box | July 17, 2026 | 9 packs; 1 Zarude promo; the same accessory set as the Pokémon Center ETB | Not stated officially |
| Pokémon Center Elite Trainer Box | July 17, 2026 | 11 packs; 2 full-art foil Zarude promos, one with a Pokémon Center logo; accessories and code card | Not stated officially |
| Booster Bundle | July 17, 2026 | 6 packs | Not stated officially |
| Booster Display | July 17, 2026 | 36 packs; each pack has 10 cards, 1 Basic Energy and 1 Pokémon TCG Live code card | Not stated officially |
| Build & Battle Box | July 31, 2026 (wide availability) | 40-card deck including 1 of 4 foil promos, 4 packs, Pokémon TCG Live code | Not stated officially |
The July 2026 release list on pokemon.com gives the Build & Battle Box its July 31 date, and a separate announcement of June 8, 2026 puts it on sale at select Play! Pokémon Stores from July 4, 2026. The four promos are Miraidon, Slowbro, Dhelmise and Bastiodon. The other four rows come from the product gallery pages and the expansion page on tcg.pokemon.com.
ETB vs Pokémon Center ETB vs Booster Bundle
The two Elite Trainer Boxes share one accessory set. The Pokémon Center version carries two more packs and a second Zarude promo, and one of its two promos bears the Pokémon Center logo.

| Item | Elite Trainer Box | Pokémon Center ETB | Booster Bundle |
|---|---|---|---|
| Booster packs | 9 | 11 | 6 |
| Zarude promo cards | 1 | 2 (one with a Pokémon Center logo) | None listed |
| Sleeves | 65 | 65 | None listed |
| Energy cards | 40 | 40 | None listed |
| Dice and coins | 6 damage-counter dice, 1 coin-flip die, 1 plastic coin | 6 damage-counter dice, 1 coin-flip die, 1 plastic coin | None listed |
| Storage and guide | Collector’s box with 6 dividers; player’s guide | Collector’s box with 6 dividers; player’s guide | None listed |
| Online code | Pokémon TCG Live code card | Pokémon TCG Live code card | None listed |
The Pitch Black Booster Display
The expansion page on tcg.pokemon.com lists a Booster Display of 36 packs. Each pack contains 10 cards, 1 Basic Energy and 1 Pokémon TCG Live code card. The Booster Bundle is its six-pack sibling.

A Pitch Black booster box therefore means a 36-pack display in English and a 30-pack box in Japanese.
The Japanese Box: M5 Abyss Eye
The official product page at pokemon-card.com/ex/m5 names the product “ポケモンカードゲーム MEGA 拡張パック「アビスアイ」” and gives a release date of May 22, 2026 (Friday), a suggested retail price of ¥200 per pack including tax, and 5 cards per pack. The page does not state packs per box or a box price. Our product page for the box lists 30 packs.

The printed base number is /081, and the official card database lists 118 entries in the set, with secret cards numbered 082 to 118. Those are 12 AR (082–093), 18 SR (094–111), 6 SAR (112–117) and 1 MUR (118).

The pairing “Abyss Eye (Pitch Black)” in our product title is our own naming, not an official statement.
Spec Comparison: English Formats vs the Japanese Box
As of September 29, 2026, the English figures are those printed on the official Pokémon TCG pages and the Japanese figures those on pokemon-card.com and our product page.
| Spec | English ETB | English Booster Display | Japanese Abyss Eye box |
|---|---|---|---|
| Release | July 17, 2026 | July 17, 2026 | May 22, 2026 |
| Packs | 9 | 36 | 30 (our product page) |
| Cards per pack | Not stated on the ETB page | 10, plus 1 Basic Energy and 1 code card | 5 |
| Promo | 1 Zarude | None | None listed on our product page |
| Price per pack | Not stated officially | Not stated officially | ¥200 |
| Set size | “Over 115 cards” | “Over 115 cards” | 118 entries in the official database |
| Card text | English | English | Japanese |
| Our sealed listing | Not a product we list | Not a product we list | No Shrink option listed |
Is Pitch Black the Same Set as Abyss Eye?
No official source says so. The pokemon.com announcement, the July 3 showcase and the product pages never mention Abyss Eye or Japan. Bulbapedia’s list of Japanese expansions (as of September 15, 2026) pairs Abyss Eye with the international name Pitch Black, which is a community reference rather than a Pokémon Company statement.
What the official Japanese database does show is the same Pokémon on both sides. The table lists the Pokémon that the official Pitch Black page features and the Abyss Eye cards that carry them.
| Pokémon on the English page | Japanese M5 cards with the same Pokémon |
|---|---|
| Mega Darkrai ex | 046/081 RR, 099/081 SR, 114/081 SAR, 118/081 MUR |
| Mega Zeraora ex | 026/081 RR, 096/081 SR, 112/081 SAR |
| Mega Chandelure ex | 036/081 RR, 097/081 SR, 113/081 SAR |
| Mega Excadrill ex | 063/081 RR, 101/081 SR |
Mega Slowbro ex and Mega Delphox ex, also shown on tcg.pokemon.com, appear in the Japanese database only as promos (M-P 071 and M-P 096), not in M5. For the whole Japanese set, see our Abyss Eye card list and the Pitch Black card list.
Card by Card: Twelve Matches
The rows below pair English cards with Japanese cards using the Limitless lists for both sets and the official Japanese database. “Same art” is Yes or No where the Limitless images show it; otherwise “Not verified”.
| English card (PBL) | Japanese card (M5) | Illustrator (JP database) | Same art | Our listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mega Darkrai ex 120/084 Mega Hyper Rare | Mega Darkrai ex 118/081 MUR | 5ban Graphics | No: engraved emblem on the Japanese gold, flat silhouette on the English gold | PSA 10 back order, ¥59,160 (~$384) |
| Mega Darkrai ex 116 Special Illustration Rare | Mega Darkrai ex 114/081 SAR | AKIRA EGAWA | Yes | PSA 10 back order, ¥32,538 (~$211) |
| Mega Zeraora ex 114 Special Illustration Rare | Mega Zeraora ex 112/081 SAR | GIDORA | Not verified | Not listed |
| Mega Chandelure ex 115 Special Illustration Rare | Mega Chandelure ex 113/081 SAR | REND | Not verified | Not listed |
| Morpeko ex 117 Special Illustration Rare | Morpeko ex 115/081 SAR | NC Empire | Not verified | Not listed |
| Gladion’s Final Battle 118 Special Illustration Rare | Gladion’s Final Battle 116/081 SAR | DOM | Not verified | Not listed |
| Gwynn 119 Special Illustration Rare | Gwynn 117/081 SAR | Naoki Saito | Not verified | Not listed |
| Mega Darkrai ex 101 Ultra Rare | Mega Darkrai ex 099/081 SR | 5ban Graphics | Not verified | Not listed |
| Mega Zeraora ex 98 Ultra Rare | Mega Zeraora ex 096/081 SR | 5ban Graphics | Not verified | Not listed |
| Mega Chandelure ex 99 Ultra Rare | Mega Chandelure ex 097/081 SR | 5ban Graphics | Not verified | Not listed |
| Gladion’s Final Battle 108 Ultra Rare | Gladion’s Final Battle 109/081 SR | Not recorded | Not verified | Not listed |
| Gwynn 109 Ultra Rare | Gwynn 111/081 SR | nagimiso | Not verified | Not listed |
English names follow Limitless: the Japanese card ムク is Gwynn in English. Every English number in this table is printed over /084, and every Japanese number over /081. One Japanese card has no Pitch Black match in the Limitless lists: the Zarude AR, M5 090.
The seven top-tier pairs, with images and asking prices, are in our companion article on the Pitch Black Special Illustration Rares and their Japanese versions; the wider top twelve is in Pitch Black Chase Cards.
Rarity Structure: 120 English Cards vs 118 Japanese
Limitless lists the English set as 84 printed cards plus 36 secret cards. The official English pages give only “over 115 cards”, so 120 is a database count. The Japanese figures come from the official Japanese card database.
| Tier | Japanese M5 numbers | Japanese count | English PBL numbers | English count |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Base set (printed total) | 001–081 | 81 | 001–084 | 84 |
| Illustration tier | 082–093 (AR) | 12 | 085–095 (Illustration Rare) | 11 |
| Top full-art tier | 094–111 (SR) | 18 | Ultra Rare run | Not counted here |
| Special art tier | 112–117 (SAR) | 6 | 114–119 (Special Illustration Rare) | 6 |
| Top card | 118 (MUR) | 1 | 120 (Mega Hyper Rare) | 1 |
| Total including secrets | up to 118 | 118 | up to 120 | 120 |
The special-art and top-card tiers line up one for one. The differences are in the illustration tier, where Japan has the Zarude AR that English lacks, and in the base set, which is 84 cards in English against 81 in Japanese.
The official English pages describe “over 35 cards with special illustrations”. For the pack-structure side of the same question, see Pitch Black pull rates: what is confirmed.
Abyss Eye Products We List
The Abyss Eye box is a variable product. As of September 29, 2026, the No Shrink option is the one that can be bought, at ¥8,603 (~$56); the Sealed option and both Damaged Box listings are sold out at the time of this update, and restock requests go through Quick Order.
The two Abyss Eye singles we list are PSA 10 back orders — sourced to order; each product page shows the current terms. The PSA 10 back order guide explains the process.
Mega Darkrai ex MUR, M5 118/081

The top card of the Japanese set and the counterpart of the English Mega Hyper Rare 120/084, though the two gold treatments differ. Offered as a PSA 10 back order at ¥59,160 (~$384).
Mega Darkrai ex SAR, M5 114/081

Illustrated by AKIRA EGAWA, with the same art as English Special Illustration Rare 116. Offered as a PSA 10 back order at ¥32,538 (~$211).
Buyer Checklist and What Is Still Unknown
- Language: English Pitch Black cards carry English text; Abyss Eye cards carry Japanese text. Ask which you want before comparing boxes.
- Number check: English Pitch Black cards print /084 and Japanese Abyss Eye cards print /081. Our PSA 10 titles print the set code and number, for example “[M5 118/081]”.
- Promo cards: the Zarude promos belong to the English ETBs. The Japanese box page lists none.
- Variable box: for the Abyss Eye box, read which option (Sealed or No Shrink) the price belongs to before adding it to the cart.
Still unknown as of September 29, 2026:
- Cards per pack for the ETB and Booster Bundle: their pages state pack counts only.
- Art on ten matches: same-art status is not verified for any row of the card-by-card table except the two Mega Darkrai ex cards.
Where to Buy the Japanese Side from Japan
The Abyss Eye box we list is the No Shrink option at ¥8,603 (~$56). For other options, use Quick Order.
For the graded chase cards, browse the PSA 10 collection or the Pokémon card box collection. The two Abyss Eye singles are PSA 10 Mega Darkrai ex MUR (¥59,160, ~$384) and PSA 10 Mega Darkrai ex SAR (¥32,538, ~$211). The Abyss Eye card list page shows the whole set, and the Abyss Eye booster box buying guide covers the box itself.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many packs are in a Pitch Black ETB?
Nine, plus one Zarude promo, 65 sleeves, 40 Energy cards, a collector’s box with six dividers, dice, a coin and a Pokémon TCG Live code card. The Pokémon Center ETB holds eleven packs and two Zarude promos. The Booster Bundle holds six packs. All three launched on July 17, 2026, per pokemon.com.
Is there a Pitch Black booster box?
Yes. The Pitch Black page on tcg.pokemon.com lists a Booster Display of 36 packs. Each pack contains 10 cards, 1 Basic Energy and a Pokémon TCG Live code card. The Japanese Abyss Eye box is a different format, with 30 packs per box on our product page.
When did Pitch Black release in English and in Japan?
The English expansion, its Elite Trainer Boxes, Booster Bundle and Booster Display launched on July 17, 2026, per pokemon.com. The Japanese Abyss Eye expansion pack (M5) went on sale earlier, on May 22, 2026, per pokemon-card.com. The Build & Battle Box has a wide-availability date of July 31, 2026.
How many cards are in Pitch Black?
The official page says “over 115 cards”, including more than 20 Trainer cards and over 35 cards with special illustrations. Limitless lists 120: 84 printed plus 36 secret cards. Japan’s Abyss Eye has 81 base cards and 118 entries in the official database, per pokemon-card.com.
How much does a Pitch Black ETB cost?
The official product pages do not state a USD price for the ETB, the Pokémon Center ETB, the Booster Bundle or the Booster Display. Retail prices are set by each seller. We do not list the English products, so we cannot give a store price for them.
Is Pitch Black the same as Abyss Eye?
Not officially. No Pokémon Company page mentions Abyss Eye. Limitless lists card-level matches, such as English Special Illustration Rare 116 and Japanese SAR 114, both Mega Darkrai ex with the same art. The two Mega Darkrai ex gold cards differ, and the Zarude AR has no English match.
How much is an Abyss Eye booster box?
The official page lists ¥200 per pack with 5 cards per pack and no box price. Our Abyss Eye box in the No Shrink option is listed at ¥8,603 (~$56); the Sealed option is sold out at the time of this update, and Quick Order takes restock requests.
Get ¥2,000 in points with a free account
Create free account1 pt = ¥1 · Use on up to 20% of your order total · Welcome points expire 30 days after sign-up · Import duties, taxes and customs charges are not included in the price and are collected on delivery, except for destinations we ship duty-paid.
Picked for this article
📩 Get member-only sale alerts & coupons
Sale alerts, coupons and restock notices by email — straight from Tokyo.

