How many packs are in an Elite Trainer Box depends on the era: nine in a standard ETB from the Scarlet & Violet and Mega Evolution series, eleven in the Pokémon Center version (the official pages say “two more than usual”), eight in the Sword & Shield years, and ten or twelve for Crown Zenith.
The official product gallery on pokemon.com prints the pack count on every ETB page, and as of September 29, 2026 the newest pages are the 30th Celebration pair (September 16, 2026) and the Pitch Black pair (July 17, 2026).
No official page prints a US price for these boxes, so the comparison is about packs and contents. We sell Japanese sealed product and graded singles from Tokyo. USD figures use ¥154/USD, approximate.
- A standard ETB holds 9 packs and 1 full-art foil promo; the Pokémon Center ETB holds 11 packs and 2 promos of the same Pokémon, one carrying a Pokémon Center logo.
- The Sword & Shield ETB pages from Chilling Reign to Silver Tempest list 8 packs. Crown Zenith is the exception at 10 packs in the ETB and 12 in the Pokémon Center ETB Plus. The Celebrations ETB lists 10 four-card packs plus 5 additional packs.
- The Delta Reign ETB (set release November 6, 2026) has no product page on pokemon.com as of September 29, 2026, so its pack count is not published.
- On the Japanese side, the M6a 30th CELEBRATION box is reported at 20 packs of 6 cards. The M6a box (No Shrink option) is listed at ¥24,513 (~$159).
As of September 29, 2026, both the 30th Celebration Elite Trainer Box and the Pokémon Center Elite Trainer Box show a launch date of September 16, 2026 on pokemon.com, and neither page prints a price.
The Short Answer: 9 Packs, or 11 at Pokémon Center
Older Sword & Shield boxes and two anniversary sets break the 9-and-11 pattern, as the table shows.
| Box type | Packs | Promo card listed |
|---|---|---|
| Standard ETB (Scarlet & Violet, Mega Evolution) | 9 | 1 full-art foil promo |
| Pokémon Center ETB (same series) | 11 | 2 promos of the same Pokémon, one with a Pokémon Center logo |
| Sword & Shield ETB (Chilling Reign to Silver Tempest) | 8 | None listed |
| Crown Zenith ETB | 10 | Etched foil Lucario VSTAR |
| Crown Zenith Pokémon Center ETB Plus | 12 | Etched foil Lucario VSTAR |
| Celebrations ETB | 10 four-card packs + 5 additional packs | Special foil Greninja ☆ |
Every count in that table comes from the ETB pages in the official gallery at pokemon.com/us/pokemon-tcg/product-gallery, linked row by row further down.
Standard ETB vs Pokémon Center ETB
The Destined Rivals pages show the Pokémon Center difference: 9 packs and one Team Rocket’s Wobbuffet promo in the standard box, 11 packs and two Wobbuffet promos in the Pokémon Center box, one of them with the Pokémon Center logo.


Where the box is sold is the other difference. The 30th Celebration pages name the Pokémon Center and “where Pokémon TCG products are sold” as retailers, and name PokemonCenter.com as the official online shop for the Pokémon Center ETB. The Stellar Crown page says its Pokémon Center ETB is “available only at the Pokémon Center”, and the Ascended Heroes page says “exclusively at Pokémon Center”.
Some Pokémon Center pages add a digital extra. The Prismatic Evolutions Pokémon Center ETB code card includes a deck box, sleeves and a full-art promo for TCG Live, while the standard box code card includes sleeves and a full-art promo.
Pack Counts by Set: Scarlet & Violet and Mega Evolution
The table covers the Scarlet & Violet and Mega Evolution sets that have ETB pages in the official gallery, newest first, from 30th Celebration (September 16, 2026) back to Paldea Evolved (June 9, 2023). The release column is the set date printed on the official set page; where the ETB launched later, the ETB date is in brackets. A dash means no Pokémon Center ETB pack count is cited for that set.
| Set | Set release | ETB packs | Pokémon Center ETB packs | ETB promo | Official pages |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30th Celebration | Sep 16, 2026 | 9 | 11 | Nidorina | ETB page · Pokemon Center ETB page |
| Pitch Black | Jul 17, 2026 | 9 | 11 | Zarude | ETB page · Pokemon Center ETB page |
| Chaos Rising | May 22, 2026 | 9 | 11 | Fennekin | ETB page · Pokemon Center ETB page |
| Ascended Heroes | Jan 30, 2026 (ETB Feb 20) | 9 | 11 | N’s Zekrom | ETB page · Pokemon Center ETB page |
| Phantasmal Flames | Nov 14, 2025 | 9 | 11 | Charcadet | ETB page · Pokemon Center ETB page |
| Mega Evolution | Sep 26, 2025 | 9 | 11 | Riolu or Alakazam | ETB page · Pokemon Center ETB page |
| Black Bolt / White Flare | Jul 18, 2025 | 9 | 11 | 1 full-art foil promo per version | Black Bolt page · White Flare page |
| Destined Rivals | May 30, 2025 | 9 | 11 | Team Rocket’s Wobbuffet | ETB page · Pokemon Center ETB page |
| Journey Together | Mar 28, 2025 | 9 | 11 | N’s Zorua | ETB page · Pokemon Center ETB page |
| Prismatic Evolutions | Jan 17, 2025 | 9 | 11 | Eevee | ETB page · Pokemon Center ETB page |
| Surging Sparks | Nov 8, 2024 | 9 | 11 | Magneton | ETB page · Pokemon Center ETB page |
| Stellar Crown | Sep 13, 2024 | 9 | 11 | Noctowl | ETB page · Pokemon Center ETB page |
| Shrouded Fable | Aug 2, 2024 (ETB Aug 23) | 9 | — | Pecharunt | ETB page |
| Twilight Masquerade | May 24, 2024 | 9 | 11 | Teal Mask Ogerpon | ETB page · Pokemon Center ETB page |
| Temporal Forces | Mar 22, 2024 | 9 | — | Flutter Mane or Iron Thorns | ETB page |
| Paldean Fates | Jan 26, 2024 | 9 | 11 | Shiny Mimikyu | ETB page · Pokemon Center ETB page |
| Scarlet & Violet—151 | Sep 22, 2023 | 9 | 11 | Snorlax | ETB page · Pokemon Center ETB page |
| Obsidian Flames | Aug 11, 2023 | 9 | 11 | Charmander | ETB page · set page |
| Paldea Evolved | Jun 9, 2023 | 9 | 11 | Pikachu | ETB page · set page |
The promo card changes from set to set, and the accessories differ between eras (see the contents table below). Temporal Forces lists a promo of “Flutter Mane or Iron Thorns” and Mega Evolution lists “Riolu or Alakazam”, so two boxes of one set can carry different promos.
Sword & Shield, Crown Zenith and Celebrations
The Sword & Shield ETBs list eight packs, one fewer than the later Scarlet & Violet box, and the pages for Chilling Reign, Fusion Strike, Brilliant Stars, Astral Radiance, Lost Origin and Silver Tempest list no promo card. Crown Zenith and Celebrations are the two exceptions among these sets.
| Set | Set release | ETB packs | Pokémon Center ETB packs | ETB promo | Official pages |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crown Zenith | Jan 20, 2023 | 10 | 12 (Elite Trainer Box Plus) | Lucario VSTAR (etched foil) | ETB page · Pokemon Center ETB Plus page |
| Silver Tempest | Nov 11, 2022 | 8 | — | none listed | ETB page |
| Lost Origin | Sep 9, 2022 | 8 | — | none listed | ETB page |
| Astral Radiance | May 27, 2022 | 8 | — | none listed | ETB page |
| Brilliant Stars | Feb 25, 2022 | 8 | — | none listed | ETB page |
| Fusion Strike | Nov 12, 2021 | 8 | — | none listed | ETB page |
| Celebrations | Oct 8, 2021 | 10 four-card Celebrations packs + 5 additional packs | — | Greninja ☆ (special foil) | ETB page |
| Chilling Reign | Jun 18, 2021 | 8 | — | none listed | ETB page |
Crown Zenith: 10 and 12 Packs
The Crown Zenith ETB page explains why the box is larger: “because booster packs aren’t sold separately for this expansion, the 10 booster packs available in this Elite Trainer Box” are the way in. The Pokémon Center Elite Trainer Box Plus lists 12 packs, an etched foil Lucario VSTAR promo, a Lucario deck box, 6 metal dice, a metal Lucario coin and 2 metal condition markers, and is sold “only at Pokémon Center”. That page describes each pack as 10 cards and 1 basic Energy or 1 VSTAR marker.
Celebrations: Two Pack Types in One Box
The Celebrations ETB mixes pack types. Its page lists 10 Celebrations 4-card booster packs and 5 additional Pokémon TCG booster packs, a special foil Greninja ☆ card, 65 sleeves with the Pokémon 25 logo, 45 Energy cards and a TCG Online code. Because the box combines 4-card packs with additional packs, its count does not compare row by row with the other ETBs.
What Else Is in the Box
Pack count is only one line of the contents list. The accessories changed between eras, and the table shows the differences the official pages print.
| Item | Scarlet & Violet ETB | Mega Evolution ETB | Sword & Shield ETB |
|---|---|---|---|
| Booster packs | 9 | 9 | 8 |
| Promo card | 1 full-art foil | 1 full-art foil | None listed |
| Card sleeves | 65 | 65 | 65 |
| Energy cards | 45 | 40 | 45 |
| Damage-counter dice | 6 | 6 | 6 |
| Coin-flip die | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Markers and coin | 2 plastic condition markers | 1 plastic coin | 2 acrylic condition markers (plus 1 acrylic VSTAR marker from Brilliant Stars on) |
| Collector’s box dividers | 4 | 6 | 4 |
| Digital code | TCG Live code card | TCG Live code card | Code card on five of the six pages; none listed for Brilliant Stars |
The 30th Celebration ETB follows the Mega Evolution layout but lists 16 foil Basic Energy cards instead of 40 Energy, plus a plastic coin and six dividers, on its official product page.


The 30th Celebration ETB Pair
The 30th Celebration Elite Trainer Box launched on September 16, 2026 with 9 booster packs and one full-art promo “featuring an illustration packed with 30 Nidorina, which happens to be #0030 in the Pokédex”. The Pokémon Center version lists 11 packs and two foil Nidorina promos, one with the Pokémon Center logo. Each pack holds five foil cards, one of them a Pikachu from a set of 30 illustrations, and one foil Basic Energy card.


The English booster packs of this set are sold only inside products, which is why the ETB pack count matters more here than for a set with loose packs. For the full contents and the Japanese comparison, read our Pokémon Center 30th Anniversary ETB explainer; the Japanese set behind the same anniversary is covered in the 30th CELEBRATION (M6a) guide. The English official pages do not state that the English set equals the Japanese M6a set.
Pack Counts in Other English Products
Dates are the launch dates as printed on the official pages.
| Product | Packs | Set and launch date |
|---|---|---|
| Booster Bundle | 6 | Destined Rivals (May 30, 2025), Stellar Crown (Sep 13, 2024), 30th Celebration (Oct 2, 2026) |
| Booster Display | 36 | Mega Evolution, Phantasmal Flames, Chaos Rising, Pitch Black, Journey Together |
| Mini Tin | 2 | Ascended Heroes (Feb 20, 2026), 30th Celebration (Oct 2, 2026) |
| Tech Sticker Collection | 3 | 30th Celebration (Sep 16, 2026), Paldean Fates (Jan 26, 2024) |
| Pokémon ex Box | 4 | 30th Celebration, Sylveon ex & Greninja ex (Sep 16, 2026) |
| Tin | 5 | Paldean Fates (Feb 9, 2024), Crown Zenith (Mar 17, 2023) |
| Tin | 4 | Ascended Heroes (Aug 28, 2026) |
| Binder Collection | 5 | 30th Celebration (Dec 4, 2026) |
| Premium Poster Collection | 10 | Ascended Heroes (Mar 20, 2026) |
| Ditto Premium Collection | 8 | 30th Celebration (Nov 6, 2026) |
| Pokémon ex Premium Collection | 8 | Paldean Fates (Feb 9, 2024) |
| Premium Figure Collection | 11 | Crown Zenith, Shiny Zacian/Zamazenta (May 5, 2023) |
| Super-Premium Collection | 15 | Prismatic Evolutions (May 16, 2025) |
| Ultra-Premium Collection | 16 | Scarlet & Violet—151 (Oct 6, 2023) |
| Ultra-Premium Collections—Day & Night | 29 + 1 Classic Collection pack | 30th Celebration (Nov 6, 2026) |


Cards Per Pack: English and Japanese
Pack counts only compare across regions if the packs are the same size, and they are not. The English pages describe a pack of 10 cards plus 1 Basic Energy (Journey Together and Destined Rivals) and, from Phantasmal Flames on, 10 cards, 1 Basic Energy and 1 Pokémon TCG Live code card. The 30th Celebration pack is different again: five foil cards and one foil Basic Energy.
| Pack | Cards per pack | Pack price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| English Journey Together, Destined Rivals | 10 cards + 1 Basic Energy | Not stated officially | tcg.pokemon.com |
| English Phantasmal Flames, Chaos Rising, Pitch Black | 10 cards + 1 Basic Energy + 1 TCG Live code card | Not stated officially | tcg.pokemon.com |
| English 30th Celebration | 5 foil cards + 1 foil Basic Energy | Not stated officially | pokemon.com showcase (June 30, 2026) |
| Japanese expansion pack, products released through April 2026 | 5 | ¥180 incl. tax | pokemon-card.com notice (January 30, 2026) |
| Japanese expansion pack, products released from May 2026 | 5 | ¥200 incl. tax | pokemon-card.com notice (January 30, 2026) |
| Japanese M6a 30th CELEBRATION | 6 foil cards | ¥360 | 30th.pokemon-card.com |
| Japanese SV2a Pokémon Card 151 and SV11 Black Bolt / White Flare | 7 | ¥290 | SV2a · SV11 |
| Japanese high-class pack (SV4a, S12a) | 10 | ¥550 | Bulbapedia list of Japanese expansions |
The official notice adds that some expansion packs are priced differently from the ¥180 and ¥200 tiers; the M6a pack is listed at ¥360 on the 30th CELEBRATION site.
The Japanese Alternative: Boxes We List
The three-way comparison below sets a standard ETB, a Pokémon Center ETB and the Japanese M6a box side by side.
| Spec | Standard ETB (Scarlet & Violet, Mega Evolution) | Pokémon Center ETB (same series) | Japanese M6a 30th CELEBRATION box |
|---|---|---|---|
| Packs | 9 | 11 | 20 (reported by Inside Games, June 9, 2026) |
| Promo cards | 1 full-art foil | 2 of the same Pokémon, one with a Pokémon Center logo | Not applicable to a booster box |
| Cards per pack | 10 cards + 1 Basic Energy (Journey Together, Destined Rivals) | See the cards-per-pack table below | 6 foil cards |
| Pack price | Not stated officially | Not stated officially | ¥360 |
| Where sold | Retailers, per the 30th Celebration pages | The Pokémon Center and PokemonCenter.com, per the 30th Celebration pages | Ships from Tokyo through our M6a box listing |
| Price | MSRP not stated officially | MSRP not stated officially | No Shrink: ¥24,513 (~$159) |
The Japanese boxes we list are booster boxes, sealed cases of packs, rather than ETBs. The table shows the pack size from the official pages and the packs per box where a source states it. Where the source is a media report or Bulbapedia’s list of Japanese expansions rather than an official page, the cell says so.
| Japanese box | Cards per pack and pack price | Packs per box | Our listing |
|---|---|---|---|
| M6a 30th CELEBRATION (September 16, 2026) | 6 foil cards, ¥360 | 20 (reported by Inside Games, June 9, 2026) | No Shrink: ¥24,513 (~$159) or Sealed: ¥27,552 (~$179) |
| SV9a Heat Wave Arena | 5 cards, ¥180 | 30 (per Bulbapedia’s list of Japanese expansions) | Sealed: ¥16,358 (~$106) |
| SV2a Pokémon Card 151 | 7 cards, ¥290 | 20 (per Bulbapedia’s list of Japanese expansions) | Sealed: ¥44,502 (~$289) |
| SV11B Black Bolt | 7 cards, ¥290 | Not stated on the official page | Sealed: ¥20,292 (~$132) |
| SV11W White Flare | 7 cards, ¥290 | Not stated on the official page | No Shrink: ¥17,207 (~$112) |
| S12a VSTAR Universe | 10 cards, ¥550 | 10 (per Bulbapedia’s list of Japanese expansions) | ¥25,883 (~$168) |

Bulbapedia’s list pairs SV9a with a third of Destined Rivals, SV2a with the English 151 set, SV11 with Black Bolt and White Flare, and S12a with Crown Zenith. That is a set-level pairing by Bulbapedia, and no official page states that any of these English and Japanese sets are equivalent. The M6a box has the same name as the English 30th Celebration set, and the English official pages do not state that the two are the same set.
For every Japanese 30th anniversary box and deck set, see the complete list of Japanese 30th Celebration products; the M6a card list shows the cards inside.
What the Official Pages Do Not Say
Several pieces of the pack-count picture are not on pokemon.com as of September 29, 2026.
- Price. No ETB, Pokémon Center ETB or booster display page prints a US price, so MSRP is not stated officially for any box in this article.
- Delta Reign. The set page gives a release date of November 6, 2026 and “Over 135 cards”. PokeBeach reported on August 20, 2026 that the lineup includes an Elite Trainer Box and a Pokémon Center ETB, but no product gallery page exists yet, so packs, promo and accessories are not published.
- Display pack counts. The Surging Sparks, Twilight Masquerade, Temporal Forces, Stellar Crown, Obsidian Flames and Paldea Evolved carousels name a booster display or booster box without printing how many packs it holds.
- Evolving Skies. The 2021 gallery has no Evolving Skies Elite Trainer Box page, so this article gives no pack count for it.
- Promo card numbers. The product pages name the promo Pokémon but do not print the card number.
Where to Buy Japanese Boxes from Japan
We ship Japanese sealed product from Tokyo. Start from the M6a 30th CELEBRATION box or the MEGA Premium Trainer Box, listed at ¥10,029 (~$65), and browse every Japanese sealed box in the Pokémon card box collection. A set that is sold out at the time of this update can be requested through Quick Order.
For buying steps see how to buy Japanese Pokémon cards from Japan, the Japanese vs English differences and the Mega Evolution English sets vs Japanese sets comparison. Set-level buying guides include Pokemon 151 and VSTAR Universe.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many packs are in an Elite Trainer Box?
A standard Elite Trainer Box from the Scarlet & Violet and Mega Evolution series lists 9 booster packs on its official pokemon.com page. Sword & Shield ETBs list 8, Crown Zenith lists 10, and the Celebrations ETB lists 10 four-card packs plus 5 additional packs.
How many packs are in a Pokemon Center Elite Trainer Box?
The Pokémon Center version lists 11 packs and two promos of the same Pokémon, one with a Pokémon Center logo. Destined Rivals and 30th Celebration describe it as “two more than usual”. Crown Zenith’s Pokémon Center ETB Plus is the exception at 12 packs.
How many packs are in the 30th Celebration Elite Trainer Box?
The 30th Celebration ETB lists 9 packs and one Nidorina promo, and the Pokémon Center ETB lists 11 packs and two Nidorina promos. Both launched on September 16, 2026. Each pack holds five foil cards, including one of 30 Pikachu illustrations, and one foil Basic Energy.
When does the Delta Reign Elite Trainer Box release, and how many packs will it hold?
The Delta Reign set releases on November 6, 2026 according to pokemon.com. As of September 29, 2026 the site has no ETB product page, so the pack count is not published. PokeBeach reported on August 20, 2026 that the lineup includes an ETB and a Pokémon Center ETB.
How much does an Elite Trainer Box cost?
The official ETB and Pokémon Center ETB pages on pokemon.com do not print a US price, so MSRP is not stated officially for any set in this article. Retailer prices vary. Our Japanese boxes and their listed prices are in the Japanese alternative table above.
How many packs are in a Japanese booster box?
It depends on the set. Inside Games reported on June 9, 2026 that the M6a 30th CELEBRATION box holds 20 packs of 6 cards. Bulbapedia’s list of Japanese expansions gives 30 packs for SV9a Heat Wave Arena and 20 for SV2a Pokémon Card 151. Black Bolt and White Flare do not state a box count.
Does a Sword & Shield ETB have fewer packs than a Scarlet & Violet ETB?
Yes. The official pages for Chilling Reign, Fusion Strike, Brilliant Stars, Astral Radiance, Lost Origin and Silver Tempest list 8 packs, against 9 for Scarlet & Violet and Mega Evolution. Those Sword & Shield pages also list no promo card.
Get ¥2,000 in points with a free account
Create free account1 pt = ¥1 · Use on up to 20% of your order total · Welcome points expire 30 days after sign-up · Import duties, taxes and customs charges are not included in the price and are collected on delivery, except for destinations we ship duty-paid.
Picked for this article
📩 Get member-only sale alerts & coupons
Sale alerts, coupons and restock notices by email — straight from Tokyo.
